The Love-Hate Relationship Between Social Media and I.

Let me just say this; I love living in this generation.

I mean, we have it all. Instant messaging all over the world, all the entertainment you could ever want on your IPhone (or Android), and everything you could ever want at the touch of a button.

But I admit it. I am addicted to my phone. I remember forgetting my phone at home once and feeling lost and terrified. Sound pathetic? Well, I know I’m not the only one around with this fear.

With technology advancing so much and social media becoming such a huge part of people’s lives, it’s getting hard to catch up. We can shop from our homes without even getting up with online stores and apps. We can read and own dozens of books and movies  that can be stored in a single phone. Nowadays,  even people’s careers are starting to depend on their social media. Businesses are judging their potential employees through sites like LinkedIn. There are even new jobs being created by businesses because of social media!

There are even ways to stay safe without keeping 911 on speed dial.Walking alone at night in sketchy places isn’t as dangerous anymore thanks to personal safety apps like bSafe. Apps like these feature alarms that automatically alert the police if you don’t check in at a certain time. Personally, I use this app all the time because it makes me feel that much safer. I mean, I still carry around pepper spray because you never know.

So, yes, social media is a very good thing. It’s easy, it’s accessible, and it is here to stay. But let’s not forget what happened in the movie, WALL-E.

8070005_orig

(source)

Remember, too much of a good thing can always become a bad thing.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

