Social Media Is Making Me Go Out More

 

To be honest, I’m a little tired about hearing these baby boomers complain how social media has made millennials more isolated. I mean, sure, you’re correct in some ways. But what are you going to do about it? Social media is here, right now, and will be when you’re dead (which wont be too long for you, you cranky old people).

But, annoying or not, they are kind of right.

We have become less social in real life.

Have you ever went to hang out with your friend at their house and instead of actually doing something, you scroll through Instagram and laugh at dumb memes together?

Or have you lied about your mom not letting you go to a party because you’re too busy watching Netflix or YouTube videos?

Don’t lie, we’ve all been there.

The thing is, our life online has become so much more interesting than the one we live in real life. It sounds kind of bad, but my social life kind of revolves around my social media.

In a way, social media has made me more social too.

 

When I was in high school, I used to stay home every weekend. But now, I actually go out to new places that I see on Instagram or Snapchat. I’ve went to LA with friends to see the new museum that opened up and went to Thailand because of Instagram.  I’m even going to Japan this summer because of this person’s travel Instagram photos. 

Processed with VSCO

(source)

Social media has influenced me to go places I’ve never dreamed I’d go to. I just can’t see how that’s a bad thing.

But let’s be honest.

Processed with VSCO

(source)

I’m still partly going to get that good Instagram photo.

Leave a Reply

